La Paz

After enduring a horror plane trip, I was left feeling pretty queasy. I don’t particularly like flying in small planes (hence my hesitation and subsequent decision to not fly over the Nazca lines) and only realised that the airline we had chosen, Amaszonas, fly small planes in the morning flights. Small as in 18-seater small. What was scheduled to be a 45 minute flight felt like double the duration. Turns out I was right, it was a 90-minute flight due to turbulence. Even more disconcerting was the fact that you could see inside the cockpit, hear a beeping noise throughout the whole flight, the lights flickered for a second at one point apparently (my eyes were shut the entire time) etc. Basically, it didn’t look like the plane was in tip-top condition and alarm bells were ringing in my head. Maybe it wasn’t as bad as I imagined, but it was pretty bad. Think I’ll seriously consider taking the 12-hour bus to Uyuni next time. By the time we had landed in La Paz and gotten to the hotel, I was crook. Almost thought I had another spew in me. Turns out it wasn’t quite deja vu (thank goodness), but I ended up sleeping the whole day. Wasted half a day in a city I hadn’t yet explored (again due to illness – damn body, get your act together!). Turns out the 14-hour sleep probably did me good, as I was feeling better the next day and set off on the free walking tour (hopefully more of a success than last time). We had the same guides, and set upon the same route, however, this time the market that had me spewing was nowhere near as busy and we had a quick stroll past instead of lingering around for longer had it been a market day. La Paz is a bizarre place, we had some strange/funny encounters with drunk locals, an elderly lady, and a crazy/energetic dog. It’s history seems to reflect the erratic and eccentric nature of the city. Having said that, I think that’s what I like about it. It’s certainly different and distinct but strikingly and endearing charming (who wouldn’t want to be surrounded by snow capped mountains?). Life is simple here and the people seem genuinely content with what they have. Strolled through the Witches market and ended up buying a ukulele – if I had more hands I would’ve bought a guitar and become a travelling orchestra but alas, such is not the case.  

Leave a Reply

